Google Translate


Queenswood is an extraordinary place with extraordinary people. It would be our privilege to educate your daughters here.

Queenswood’s sports heroes dominate Welwyn Hatfield Sports Award nominations

Friday 12 February 2016

Queenswood teams and individuals have racked up an astonishing ten nominations in the forthcoming Welwyn Hatfield Sports Awards.

Earlier this week we learned that last year’s winning Abedare Cup team had been nominatedfor the School Team of the Year award by Welwyn and Hatfield Borough Council.

The team comprises Ema Lazic, Georgie Walker and Emily Small (Lower Sixth), Olivia Peet (Year 11) and OQ Katty Weymouth.

In addition, the following girls and staff have been shortlisted for their exceptional contribution to sport:

  • Maddy Wray (Year 11) – Young Participant of the Year

  • Jessica Hurley (Year 11) – Pupil of the Year
  • Lucy Baker (Upper Sixth) – Pupil of the Year
  • Lucy Wakeley (Year 11) – Pupil of the Year
  • Rebecca Hurley (Upper Sixth) – Pupil of the Year and Volunteer of the Year
  • Gabriella Murray-P (Year 9) – Pupil of the Year
  • Jo Wakeley – Teacher of the Year and  Coach of the Year
  • Mhairi Bullock – Teacher of the Year
  • Becci Pratt – Teacher of the Year and  Coach of the Year

Welwyn and Hatfield Sports awards ceremony takes place on 8 March. At the 2015 awards, two Queenswood students were honoured with trophies.